The Year Comes to a Close – I Wish You Love!

I thought long and hard about what I wanted my last blog of 2015 to say as the year comes to a close.  What message did I want to share as I put this year to bed to begin a new one?

It’s been a tough year full of incredible change.  This change was both very difficult and amazing all at the same time.  I have talked some about that in previous blogs and will not talk about it today.

When your life does a complete 360, both personally and professionally all in one year, the year-end musings can be more thoughtful and introspective than ever before.  I find myself tonight reflecting on this year and looking for the positives amidst all the difficulties.  There are many.

I keep coming back to something that I have said before.  It’s all about the people and it’s all about the love.

Love takes many forms.

  • Love is your husband letting you go so you can be the person you need to be.
  • Love is listening when someone finally lets everything out and just completely falls apart.
  • Love is standing by and supporting someone when they are making changes that will affect your life.
  • Love is a “How are you doing?”
  • Love is a random card or gift just to brighten your day, completely out of left field.
  • Love is a kind word.
  • Love is seeing beyond the silence.  Noticing.
  • Love is having faith in someone when they can’t find the way to have that faith in themselves.
  • Love is an “I miss you.”
  • Love is an offer of shelter while you figure it all out.
  • Love is a phone call.  Just to check in.
  • Love is finding time to help when you really don’t have it.
  • Love is your kids having your back 100%.
  • Love is a “you go girl” or private message of encouragement or advice from people you have never met.
  • Love is being reminded of just how much you have to offer this world.
  • Love is when someone makes you feel beautiful even when you don’t.
  • Love is taking the time and being there.

Love is a lot of things to people.  Many of these things may not be apparent if you don’t pay attention.

Love is a lot of different things to me but tonight I reflect on the incredible love I have received during this difficult year.

I am fortunate to have amazing family and friends.  Truly, awesomely amazing.  Everything listed above and more was gifted to me this year.  A year that I thought, at some points, would break this typically strong and resilient woman who kept much of those difficulties well hidden.  I don’t know how I would have fared without that abundance of love, caring and compassion sometimes from places so completely unexpected.

Today, I am in the best place that I have ever been in my life and so excited and positive about what the future holds.  Every day is not perfect nor do I expect it to be but life looks damned good right now.  In the end, the struggle has been worth it.

This blog is intensely personal but there is a message, a message that I hope you take into the holidays and every day of the New Year ahead.

  • What you do matters.
  • How you treat people matters.
  • Your time matters.
  • Your kind words matter.
  • Your thoughtfulness matters.
  • Your offer to help matters.
  • Being there matters.
  • Your love matters.

It mattered to me.

This season and in the New Year to come – I wish you love!

Leave a Reply

