#CSIKraken Unite!

The curse of having voices in your head is that you just can’t relax when they decide to get busy.  I really am not psychotic; I just have a busy brain.  There is no controlling them.  The only solution is to try to quiet them so you can try something novel like sleep.  Please don’t suggest a cocktail they only make the voices worse!  Thank God I found blogging.  Even when there is nobody to talk to, I can shut the voices up (if only momentarily).

Tonight, my voices were again wandering down the CSI path.  This is likely due to the fact that #CONSTRUCT (CSI’s annual convention) is in 25 days in Baltimore.  That I am excited is putting it mildly. You can check out the event here www.constructshow.com.

But this is not about #CONSTRUCT (see earlier blog on that topic.)  The last 2-1/2 years since I joined CSI have been a whirlwind (OK, that is a bit of an understatement).  Because I am just a little Type A, I don’t do too many things halfway in any area of my life.  Yes, this sometimes gets me into trouble but usually it all comes out on the positive side.

Many who read this will also know that I often tweet with the hashtag #CSIKraken (see earlier Becoming a Kraken blog).  My voices started wondering just how long I have been doing that and where it has gone.  Of course, I had to have the answer immediately (patience is not one of my virtues) so I promptly requested a copy of my Twitter archive. 

Wow! That just kind of blew my mind.  My first Kraken tweet was on July 20, 2012 after a CSI Board Meeting where someone made the comment to “Release the Krakens” when we were trying to get something done.  Have I really been tweeting under #CSIKraken for over two years now? 

More importantly, what’s the point of it all?  I can assure you there was no mission or grand scheme when I started.  That particular seed took root on its own.  As more people started participating in the #CSIKraken tweets, a message emerged.  A mission developed.  A passion was ignited.

The #CSIKraken went from an under the breath joke at a Board Meeting to a movement of dedicated professionals looking for a reason to be excited again.  Professionals looking for better ways to share and communicate, looking for out of the box new ideas and looking for positive ways to help each other grow.  The short version is that we want to have fun, crash through the status quo, be motivated, be passionate and take it to the next level in our professional lives.  Who said this has to be boring?

Not only do I think we can do this.  I think we can do it in a big way.

Last Friday, a proposal was submitted to Bob Simmons, CSI President (and CSI Kraken in his own right) to consider the formation of an official Institute CSI Kraken Committee.  This would be a group of highly motivated, dedicated professionals committed solely to member-to-member engagement, motivation and problem solving.  A go-to group to help members and Chapters succeed, grow and relight the fire many have had for this organization.  This would be an added layer of muscle for our awesome CSI Staff to help get things done for members and chapters all over the country. 

So after two years, this movement has become my passion.  This is now a goal and I plan to continue to pursue it regardless of the outcome of this proposal.  If we are not successful now, we eventually will be.

#CSIKraken are currently loose, scattered and there is no real organization but you know who you are and you are already working for change within your chapters.  I see evidence of it every day.

#CSIKraken Unite!  You do have a voice and you can use it.  Our effort is toward positive change, inspiration, motivation and growth.  Go Big or Go Home! 

If you would like to see this effort have a chance at coming to fruition, please take a moment to send your words of wisdom and inspiration to the Institute Board of Directors.  You can find their contact information here: http://bit.ly/VnId7k

Whether we succeed now or we succeed later, I look forward to seeing many of you at #CONSTRUCT and recruiting even more of you to the cause.  Let’s take this to another level together.

CSI Kraken

Leave a Reply

