So What’s the Deal?

If you know me, you might describe me as a bit Type A. When I feel strongly or believe in something I go all in.  I tend to speak my mind but (almost) always with a touch of humor and a smile. I am mortally opposed to hurting anyone for any reason and I can be a little emotional.  I don’t think these are bad things.

My next blog was supposed to be about how and why I became known as The Kraken and what that means to me and hopefully to others.  I wrote up this nice pretty little piece and then promptly dumped it in the trash. That particular blog is going to have to wait. 

Something has been nagging at me for a while and I need to get it off my chest.

Passion is a word I use a lot.  I use it a lot because I feel it a lot.  It is almost physically painful for me to bottle it up. If I feel like I have to, I can’t sleep and it consumes me.  If I have it, I have to share it. 

So what’s the deal?

I often feel like I need to bottle it up or hide it behind a nice safe dusty film.  On a number of occasions, I felt like my passion made a person uncomfortable. I am not a fanatic nor am I the type to push my current enthusiasm down someone’s throat.  I just get excited about things.  Any political, religious or other beliefs, I keep to myself.

On the flip side of that coin, I have watched my passion spread its tentacles (no pun intended) to others and watched it grow. That feels amazing in ways I can’t even describe.  It is almost a high to watch someone come alive about something they care about.

I have chewed on this and it has nagged at me for quite some time before it all started to become clear in my head.

The problem?  Society has trained us to behave – to act like a lady or to be a strong and stoic man.  We have been conditioned to keep our emotions in check, never be vulnerable and present a pretty and acceptable picture to our family, friends and peers.  It is not “proper” to get too excited, to cry when something touches you or to love with everything you have.  It is not acceptable to follow your dreams if those dreams do not fit into a nicely wrapped, acceptable box.  We certainly cannot shout it from the rooftops. 

If I am going to be really honest, I am as guilty as the next person.  I have spent a good portion of my life trying to live up to those expectations. That has recently changed for me. In my opinion, those expectations are all crap.  There I go again, getting excited.

Over the last few years, some hidden switch was thrown inside of me.  I can’t do it anymore.  I can’t bottle it up. It feels too damned good to let it out. Letting go of those expectations has been indescribably liberating and I am watching my life start to change in ways I never would have imagined.  I am absolutely determined to do whatever I need to do to live my one life in a way that is exciting, fulfilling, fun and unapologetic. 

The point?  The message?

DON’T BE AFRAID.  Don’t let time pass you by only to find yourself saying later “I wish I would have.”   Don’t let conventions keep you from the life you are meant to live or from sharing your awesomeness with the rest of the world.

  • Say or do what you feel.
  • Take a chance.
  • Make a change.
  • Follow your heart.
  • Feel the music.
  • Gift someone else with your excitement and watch it grow.
  • Go big or go home!

Really, it’s OK.  Go all in or take baby steps.  Share your passion for life, work, love or whatever floats your boat. I promise, you won’t regret it and the benefits will blow your mind.  While you might make someone uncomfortable, you might also change their life.

Trust me, I know.

One comment

Leave a Reply

